Tuesday's Hopkins County Election Results


by: Bobby McDonald


In what was termed as a "very light" turnout, Tuesday's primary election found 3385 of the 20, 620 registered voters making their way to the polls to exercise their right to vote.


In the Republican Primary, voters gave Mitt Romney 66.48% of the vote, in Hopkins County, with Rick Santorum a distant second, and Ron Paul polling the third place position.

Democrats gave Obama a 74.66 per cent of the votes, with John Wolfe polling 13.35% for the second place position.

In the U.S. Senate Race, Hopkins County Republican voters gave David Dewhurst 50.47% of their vote, with Ted Cruz, following in the second position, with 23.77%, but statewide, Dewhurst failed to get a 50% majority, forcing a July run-off election.

Local Democrats gave their majority to Paul Sadler with 55.73% and Grady Yarbrough a distant second with 18.58% of the vote.

In the District 4 U.S. Representative race, longtime Rep. Ralph Hall polled over 60% of the local vote, and will meet Democrat VaLinda Hathcox in November.

In the Railroad Commissioner Race, it was Christi Craddick, who received 37.08% of the local vote, in the Republican primary, and Dale Henry who recived 100% of the Democratic primary votes. And, it was Barry Smitherman, a Republican, who polled 33.97% of the local vote for an unexpired term on the Railroad Commision.





Republican Don Willett received 52.96% of the primary vote in the Justice Supreme Court Place 2 Race, in Hopkins Couty.

Repulican Joe Pool, Jr., polled the most Hopkins County votes in the primary, receiving 40.91% locally, in the Place 4 Justice of the Supreme Court Race.

In the Place 6 Justice of the Supreme Court race, local Republicans gave Nathan Hecht, 100% of their votes, and local Democrats gave Michele Petty 100% of their votes, as they were the only two candidates bidding for the seat, to be determined in November.

In the Presiding Judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals, local Republicans, gave the nod to single candidate Sharon Keller, and local Democrats cast all of their votes for the single candidate, Keith Hampton.

Democrats voted for the single candidate, Elsa Alcala and Republicans voted for Barbara Parker Henry, in the Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 7 Race.

Thomas Ratliff polled 62.73% of the local Republican vote over Randy Stevenson, in the Member of the State Board of Education, District 9 Race.

State Senator Bob Deuell, from Greenville, received a 100% vote in the local Republican primary.

In Hopkins County, Republican local voters, gave the nod to Dan Flynn, with 57.97% of the vote, over George Alexander.

Hopkins County Democrats gave the nod to Frank L. Supercinski for the Justice of the Apeals Court, Place 6, while H.D. Bailey got the most local votes, from the Republicans, as they chose him by 54.21% over Bailey C. Moseley.

Democrats chose Clay Johnson to meet Republican Eddie Northcutt, in the local District Judge Race, in November, both ran unopposed in their primaries.

Hopkins County Republican voters gave Erwin Cain 1881 of their votes in the closely contested 62nd District Judge race, as opposed to Lamar Countian, Will Biard. However, Biard out-polled Cain, in the district and will become the judge, as there was no Democratic opponent.




Hopkins County Republicans gave Franlin County native, Will Ramsey, their nod in the 8th Judicial District Attorney race, while Democrats lent their support to Steven Lilley.

Local Democrat Officeholders, County Attorney, Dusty Hyde Rabe, Hopkins County Sheriff Butch Adams,  and Tax Assessor Collector, Debbie Pogue Jenkins, all ran unopposed, as did Republican County Commissioner Precinct #1, Beth Wisenbaker.

In the local County Commissioner Precinct #3 race, Wade Bartley polled 535 votes (63.31%) to opponent Danny Christenberry's 306 votes, to become the Republican nominee to challenge Democrat, Billy Emerson, in November.

Local Constable, Republican Norman Colyer, ran unapposed.

And in the local Constable Precinct #2 race, William B. "Bill" Allan garnered 740 votes to win the opportunity to face Democrat Bobby Neal, in November. Republican John Brian Beadle captured 5088 votes in the primary.

Both Donnie W. Wisenbaker and Tommy Long garnered the support of their parties to remain the County Republican and County Democrat Chairmen, respectively.

Local Republicans voted 84.20% for school choice, 94.82% for repealing ObamaCare, and 93.30% for public prayer, as well as 96.31% for a balanced budget to control government growth, and 76.96% for redistricting.

Meanwhile, local Democrats voted 80.91% for Proposition #1, 87.61% for Proposition #2, and 66.18% for Proposition #3.

Those that had hoped for a decisive showing in Tuesday's primary election, to prevent the July run-off elections, were disappointed, as voters will once again go to the polls, the end of July, to get prepared for November's 2012 election.

Thanks County Clerk Debbie Shirley and her staff, and the many others who served as judges and workers, in Tuesday's local primary election.